Panellists announced for 2013 IoD Guernsey debate

Posted: 22/08/2013

Seven panellists will participate in the Guernsey Institute of Directors annual debate which will take place on Thursday 3 October at Beau Sejour.

There are just a few club tickets remaining for the 500-seat event which will be moderated by Sarah Montague of BBC Radio 4's Today programme.

The debate will look at Guernsey's fitness for purpose from both internal and external perspectives. It will challenge whether the island has a sound and effective management and infrastructure and also how robustly it is able to deal with external threats and challenges from the UK, US and EU and against a raft of new regulation and legislation.

Two panels will participate in the debate. The panellists looking at Guernsey's internal challenges are: Peter Mills, a director of the Optimus Group and chairman of GIBA; Wayne Bulpitt, founder of the Active Group; Chris Brock, founder of Island Analysis and Robin Newbould, managing director of Bullion Rock.

Those looking at the external environment are: Steve Williams, director of European affairs, Channel Islands' Brussels office; Stephen Lansdown, co-founder of Hargreaves Lansdown and William Mason, Director General of the Guernsey Financial Services Commission.

The event will include audience voting via mobile phone, tablet device or laptop and those who are not able to attend will be able to follow its progress through monitoring the twitter feed @iodgsydebate #iodgsy.

Chairman of the IOD's Guernsey branch Mark Palfrey said: “This year's speaker line-up will give us some in-depth insight into the key issues affecting Guernsey and we look forward to some robust debate. It will be important that the audience can participate fully in the proceedings and there will be a number of ways in which this can be done, including through our experienced moderator Sarah Montague, through voting and through social media.”

The principal sponsor of the IOD debate is Carey Olsen, with additional sponsorship from Long Port, Credit Suisse, JT, the Ana Leaf Foundation, The Partnership and Sueco. Contributors are Spike Productions, Delta Production Services and Orchard PR.

Add a Comment

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Submit

It's easy to stay current with

Just sign up for our email updates!

Yes please! No thanks!